Click questions for the answers.
- When is my teen eligible for a permit?
The Arizona MVD requires that a teen must be at least 15 years 6 months to be eligible for a permit.
- How long is a permit valid and can I renew it?
A permit is valid for one year from the issue date. If you are approaching expiration, you may renew for an additional year. If you renew BEFORE the permit has expired, you do not need to re-take the written test, however if you let your permit expire, you will be required to take the written test to obtain the permit again.
- When is my teen eligible for a driver's license / how long do I have to keep a permit?
The AZ MVD issues driver's licenses to students who have held their permit for at least 6 months and have passed a road skills test.
- What are the restrictions with a permit?
Individuals with an instruction permit must always be accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age.
- What are the restrictions with a graduated license?
Graduated licenses are issued to students between the ages of 16 and 18 who have held an instruction permit for at least 6 months.
- What documents are needed to obtain a permit / license?
All students are required by state and federal law to provide a social security number to verify identity. Also when applying for a permit / license, students are required to provide the following:
- Two types of documents: one must have a clear photo OR Three types of documents without a photo
- One document must be a primary source I.e.: AZ permit, birth certificate, US passport, AZ ID card, US Military ID card
- One document can be a Secondary document source I.E.: Social security card, w-2 form, bank card, school ID with photo, employee ID with photo, credit card.
- All documents must be originals OR certified copies.
- What kind of testing occurs to obtain a permit?
Students must pass a written multiple choice exam passing with at least an 80% to be eligible for a permit. Stop and Go Driving gives each student the written evaluation / test during the classroom instruction. Every student will take the permit test at the MVD.
- What kind of testing occurs to obtain a license?
Students must pass a road skills exam with the student's on-street instructor. Even though a student passes the comprehensive road evaluation provided by a Stop and Go Driving School instructor. The MVD will test every new driver and has them complete the MVD road test. All Arizona third party providers fall under this Arizona State Statute.
- What is a graduated license (class G license)?
A graduated license is issued to students who are at least 16 years old but less than 18 years old who have held a valid AZ permit for at least 6 months.
- What is an operators license (class D license)?
An operator license is issued to students over 18 years of age.
- Will I receive an insurance discount for taking these classes?
All students completing a driving program through Stop and Go Driving School will be issued an insurance certificate to present to your insurance company. This certificate will satisfy most insurance carriers, however we highly recommend that you check with your insurance agent to determine whether your policy has specific requirements to be eligible for a discount.
- Who are the instructors and what are their credentials?
All instructors have successfully completed background checks, obtained fingerprint clearance, completed extensive training, and passed an exam administered by the AZ Motor Vehicle Division.
- What does MVD licensed / certified mean?
The Arizona MVD approves and regulates professional driving schools. Schools must submit an application and provide extensive documentation regarding offered programming. Approved schools must meet and maintain certain criteria in order to be able to offer comprehensive permit and license evaluations. Arizona state statutes require that all students test at the MVD even if they have successfully completed all of Stop and Go Driving Schools evaluations.
- How much does your program cost?
- What does six hours of Driving Instruction consists of?
Stop and Go Driving School offers a six hours driving to meet students' needs. We offer Classroom instruction to obtain the Arizona Instructional Permit free of charge with the purchase of the driving instruction. All driving packages include a series of 3-hour driving sessions, one-on-one with an instructor. The classroom is an 6-8 hour class held in three locations in Tucson. Check our map to find a location closest to you. Students don't need any prior experience driving, that's what we are here to do, teach you how to drive. Instructors will work to provide students with a variety of skill building exercises including but not limited to the following:
- High volume traffic areas
- Complex Driving
- Freeway driving/Merging
- Parallel parking
- Defensive driving
- Rural/Residential Driving
- Parking Maneuvers
- Up Hill/Down Hill Parking
- Scanning/Speed Control
- Must pass the on road skills evaluation with the student's instructor.
- Must provide proper identification documentation
There is no guarantee that students completing a driving program will obtain a driver license. Individuals learn at different rates and some students may not be ready to operate a vehicle safely. Your individual instructor will provide information regarding your particular situation and advise you of your options throughout Instruction.
- How much driving does my teen need to meet state requirements?
An applicant for a class G license must have a current Arizona instruction permit, which has been held for at least 6 months, or have a driver license from another state. An applicant must also have successfully completed a state certified driver education program OR the parent / guardian must provide documentation that the student has completed at least 30 hours of supervised driving practice, with at least 10 night hours.
More information can be found on the Arizona MVD website at http://www.azdot.gov.